新闻 | 四川省委副书记邓小刚率团访问威斯敏斯特公学

2019年6月18日,四川省委副书记邓小刚率团在英国访问交流,首站来到威斯敏斯特公学。

威斯敏斯特公学校董会主席霍尔,威斯敏斯特公学校长德汉姆先生以及学校相关负责人对邓小刚一行表示热烈欢迎。代表团实地考察了威斯敏斯特公学,与公学代表就合作项目落地成都和成都威斯敏斯特学校进展情况作了深入交流。

威斯敏斯特公学校长德汉姆先生,校董会成员、威斯敏斯特公学海外发展委员会主席朱迪斯女爵,威斯敏斯特公学现任副校长(学术)、成都威斯敏斯特学校总校长哈里斯先生代表校方发言,介绍了威斯敏斯特公学与中国深入开展教育合作、在成都市双流区开办首个海外学校项目等情况,表示将把公学的优质教育带到中国并与中国本土教育相融合,为培养具有中国文化底蕴、面向未来的全球卓越公民贡献力量。

邓小刚表示,在双方的共同努力下,成都威斯敏斯特学校已成功落户成都市双流区并取得顺利进展。要坚持正确办学方向,坚持依法办学,坚持立德树人,推进成都威斯敏斯特学校健康发展。希望双方加强沟通对接,加大工作力度,加快建设进度,推动成都威斯敏斯特学校2020年建成开学。

此次访校是代表团在英国访问交流、深化务实合作活动之一。在6月19日四川省人民政府、英国国际贸易部共同在伦敦举办的“四川—伦敦经贸合作交流会”上,英国国际贸易部国务大臣斯图尔特在题为“高质量的英国教育”演讲中认为威斯敏斯特公学将为四川本地学生和来四川求学的学生带来“世界一流教育的选择”,成都市双流区委副书记、区长鲜荣生作了推介发言,高度评价成都威斯敏斯特学校落户成都。

威斯敏斯特公学位于伦敦市中心的威斯敏斯特教堂旁,其历史可以追溯到1179年,是英国最古老、最知名的私立学校之一。作为英国最著名的九大公学之一,由伊丽莎白一世为学校授予皇家赞助,至今已培养出了多名英国首相、诺贝尔奖得主、知名作家和艺术家等。

1人评论了“News | Sichuan Delegate Visit to Westminster School”

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。

News | Sichuan Delegate Visit to Westminster School

On June 18, 2019, Deng Xiaogang, the Deputy Secretary of the CPC central committee of Sichuan Province, led a delegation to the United Kingdom for an exchange visit. Their first stop was Westminster School.

Dr. John Hall, Chairman of Westminster School Governing Body and Mr. Patrick Derham, the Head Master of Westminster School extended a warm welcome to Deng Xiaogang and his delegation. The delegation visited Westminster School and had an in-depth dialogue with the School’s representatives on the implementation of the cooperative project in Chengdu and the progress of Westminster School in Chengdu.

Mr. Patrick Derham, the Head Master of Westminster School, Dame Judith Mayhew Jonas, the Chairman of the Westminster School Overseas Development Committee and Mr. Rodney Harris, the current Deputy Headmaster (Academic) of Westminster School spoke on behalf of the school to express their sincere welcome to the delegation. They referred to the expansive development of their educational cooperation with China, and the establishment of the school in Chengdu, Shuangliu District. They recognized the role that Westminster School would play in bringing quality education to China and its integration with Chinese education; the cultivation of global citizens of remarkable talent, with their roots still firmly connected with China’s cultural heritage.

In Deputy Secretary Deng Xiaogang’s speech, he expressed gratitude and happiness at the joint efforts of both sides in establishing Chengdu Westminster School in Shuangliu District, and the smooth progress that has been observed so far. He noted the importance of following proper legal and institutional operation procedures, as well as emphasizing the importance of moral education in promoting the healthy and stable development of Chengdu Westminster School. He hopes that the two sides will continue to strengthen their communication and cooperation, applying dedication and effort to the construction process to ensure the completion and opening of Chengdu Westminster School in 2020.

The visit was part of the Sichuan delegation’s visit to the UK in order to exchange ideas and deepen cooperation. On June 19th in London, the ‘Sichuan-London Economic and Trade Cooperation and Exchange Summit’ was held collaboratively by the Sichuan Province People’s Government and the British Department of International Trade. The International Trade Minister of the United Kingdom, Graham Stuart MP, during his speech entitled ‘High Quality British Education’, referenced Chengdu Westminster School as presenting a “world class educational opportunity” for local students from Sichuan and beyond. Xian Rongsheng – the Deputy Secretary of Chengdu Shuangliu District Committee and the Chief of the Shuangliu District People’s Government – also spoke highly of Chengdu Westminster School’s establishment in Chengdu.

One of the nine most famous public schools in the UK, Westminster School is located in central London next to Westminster Abbey. Its origins can be traced back to 1179 making it one of the oldest and most famous private schools in the UK. Queen Elizabeth I confirmed royal patronage of the school, which has since produced several British Prime Ministers, Noble Prize winners as well as famous writers and artists.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.