新任英国驻华大使吴若兰女士莅临

11 月 26 日正午,在成都宽窄巷子一处白墙灰瓦的四合院内,成都威斯敏斯特学校(筹)主办的一场公益活动圆满落下帷幕。该活动指向生物多样性保护,由英国驻重庆总领事馆支持,我们联手 ZSL 伦敦动物学会共同举办。 英国驻华大使吴若兰出席。

 

50 余位长期响应成都威斯敏斯特学校(筹)服务社会教育理念的家长和儿童,以及新任英国驻华大使吴若兰、英国驻重庆总领事史云森、四川区域高级事务官员高燕等一行人莅临了该活动。

 

罗德礼·哈里斯总校长向英国驻华大使吴若兰赠送礼物。

 

成都威斯敏斯特学校筹备组全体成员共同绘成以生物多样性为主题的作品赠送给吴若兰大使。

 

英国驻华大使吴若兰给小朋友颁发证书。

 

英国驻重庆总领事史云森给小朋友佩戴徽章。

 

英国驻华大使吴若兰、英国驻重庆总领事史云森以及 CWS 管理团队成员和现场小朋友合影。

 

英国驻华大使吴若兰(右一)、英国驻重庆总领事史云森(左三)、成都西敏公学教育科技有限公司总裁秦奕(左一)、成都威斯敏斯特学校(筹)总校长罗德礼·哈里斯(右二)、英国驻重庆总领事馆国际贸易部教育行业高级官员高竹林(左二)

 

 

服务社会一直是成都威斯敏斯特学校(筹)的核心使命,在塑造孩子全人品格的路径中它和课堂学习一样重要。我们希望孩子们从小就意识到学习不是唯一,学校之外世界之中,有很多双眼睛和很多未尽的伟大事业在期待他们的投入和贡献。而我们要做的是为孩子们打开这扇门,把远方指给他们,鼓励他们拥抱社会,在服务社会的终生旅程中立身立命,寻求生命的突破。

 

环境教育,让我们的孩子理解人与自然的关系对我们来说史无前例的重要。这是我们社会责任的一个关键要素。因此,我们特别高兴能够举办一场反映我们教育价值观的活动。该活动也是英国驻重庆总领事馆“英国嘉年华”系列活动的一部分。而随着联合国生物多样性峰会明年 5 月在昆明的召开,届时世界将再次把相同的期许聚焦在中国西南部。

 

成都威斯敏斯特学校(筹)为孩子们打造的生物多样性主题教育场景。

 

 

孩子们和家长们从罗德礼校长、英国驻华大使吴若兰和 ZSL 伦敦动物学会中方项目协调员陈姝的演讲中意识到人与自然的命运紧紧相依。爱护自然的行动可以从弃用塑料袋,拒绝购买野生动物及其制品开始,这样我们都可以朝着绿色可持续的生活方式前进。保护生物多样性不是一个时髦的口号,因为我们和下一代生存的一方天地都系在地球上,它孤独又脆弱,我们都有义务保护它,让我们的子孙后代和植物、动物、海洋生物共生共荣。

 

孩子们全身心投入“为爱发声,袋袋相传”主题环保袋绘制活动。

 

英国驻重庆总领事史云森和孩子们互动。

 

英国驻重庆总领事史云森和孩子们互动。

 

演讲内容

 

罗德礼·哈里斯总校长发表演讲。

 

“保护生物多样性是我们每个人 义不容辞的责任。 个人的力量虽如涓涓细流, 但同心携手,不择细流, 我们的力量也一定能汇成 澎湃江河。”

罗德礼总校长

 

 

ZSL 伦敦动物学会中方项目协调员陈姝发表演讲。

 

“在过去 40 年之内,地球失去了 68% 的物种,只有 13% 的海洋没有受到破坏,90% 的湿地系统都已经消失了。如果把地球的历史浓缩成一年的话,人类是在最后 14 分钟出现的,最后 1 分钟出现了农耕,但是最后的 2 秒才发生了工业革命,而就是这最后 2 秒,也就是最后的 200 多年间,我们就失去了无数珍稀的物种。

 

由于无尽的塑料扩张,气候变化,野生动物贸易,我们的生态系统正在崩塌。而人类作为地球重要的一员,我们可以 take action!保护生物多样性!我们可以选择过上绿色可持续的生活方式,比如绿色出行,选择绿色认证的可持续产品,减少一次性塑料制品的使用,拒绝购买任何野生动物及制品。”

 

ZSL 伦敦动物学会中方项目协调员陈姝

 

 

英国驻华大使吴若兰发表演讲。

 

“在过去的 35 年中,生物多样性下降了四分之一以上。

人类活动导致的物种灭绝速度比自然规律快 1000 倍,估计未来有34000种植物和5200种动物面临灭绝。

尽管世界上的可食用植物超过三万种。可我们摄入的卡路里中有一半的能量来自于三种植物,大米,小麦和玉米。

生物多样性正在迅速削减。上一次类似的事情发生还是在 6500 万年前,当时包括恐龙在内的所有物种的三分之一在大规模灭绝中被杀死。

减少遗传多样性是一件令人恐惧的事情,因为多样性是大自然母亲对疾病或气候变化等灾难进行规划和防御的方式。更多的遗传多样性意味着更好的粮食安全。

我们可以从身边的一些小事做起保护生物多样性,比如买菜,我们可以去当地的农贸市场,选择传统的品种,这些品种通常比典型的超市更美味。”

 

英国驻华大使吴若兰

British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson, attends CWS event

On November 26th, Chengdu Westminster School held a joint event with Zoological Society of London, supported by the British Consulate General in Chongqing, on the theme of wildlife conservation and maintaining biodiversity. British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson, attended the event.

 

Fifty parents and children, for whom the CWS ethos of social responsibility and community service particularly resonates, were invited to the event. They were joined by the newly-appointed British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson; British Consul General in Chongqing, Stephen Ellison; Sichuan Regional Affairs Officer, Mia Gao and other officials.

 

Our Head Master, Rodney Harris, presents gift to British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson.

 

CWS presents a gift, a collaborative painting themed on biodiversity, to British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson.

 

British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson, awards certification to pupil.

 

British Consul General in Chongqing, Stephen Ellison, awards badge to pupil.

 

Group photo: British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson; British Consul General in Chongqing, Stephen Ellison; CWS Management Team members and pupils.

 

British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson (first from right); British Consul General in Chongqing, Stephen Ellison (third from left); President of Chengdu Ximin Public School Education Technology Co., Ltd, Qin Yi (first from left); Chengdu Westminster School Head Master, Rodney Harris (second from right); Senior Trade and Investment Officer, Education, Elaine Gao (second from left).

 

 

The idea of serving the community and society is central to the mission of CWS, an aspect of education that is just as important as any classroom lesson for children’s personal development. We aspire to help our pupils understand that the school is not a complete representation of the world; that there are a great many causes and opportunities beyond the school worthy of their efforts and support. We aspire to open doors to our pupils, supporting their discovery of their own place in society, and their understanding of how they can make a difference through developing a lifelong commitment to service.

 

Environmental education, through developing an understanding of the relationship between people and nature has never been more important than now. It is a key element of our civic responsibility. We were therefore especially delighted to be able to host an event which reflects our own educational values. The event also featured as part of the “British Festival” serial event hosted by the British Consulate-General in Chongqing. Next year, the world’s focus will be on SW China when Kunming hosts the ‘UN Biodiversity Summit’ in May.

 

Chengdu Westminster School sets up the venue on the theme of biodiversity.

 

 

Through the speeches delivered by Head Master, Rodney Harris; British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson and Chinese project coordinator at Zoology Society of London, Becky Chen, parents and pupils were reminded of the interdependence of human kind and the natural world. By stopping the use of plastic bags, taking a stand against wildlife trading, we can all takes steps towards a more environmentally friendly and sustainable way of living. Protecting biodiversity is not a trendy slogan, but should be a constant reminder that in our own actions we each have a part to play to ensure the survival of plants, animals and marine life for future generations, and a sustainable future for all.

 

Speak up for our friends, bag up your love for wildlife.

 

British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson, talks to pupils.

 

British Consul General in Chongqing, Stephen Ellison, talks to pupils.

 

Speech Excerpts

 

Our Head Master, Rodney Harris, delivers speech.

 

“Each one of us has a part to play in protecting the environment, and maintaining biodiversity. Though our own contribution may seem small, together all our individual actions have the potential to make a real difference.”

Head Master, Rodney Harris

 

 

Chinese project coordinator at The Zoology Society of London, Becky Chen, delivers speech.

 

“In the past 40 years, the Earth has lost 68% of its species and 90% of its wetland system, and only 13% of the ocean have not been damaged. If the history of the earth is condensed into one year, human beings appear in the last 14 minutes, farming in the last one minute, the industrial revolution in the last 2 seconds. And it is during this last 2 seconds, which is the past 200 years, we lost countless treasured species.

 

Our ecosystems are deteriorating due to the expansion of endless plastics, climate change, and the wildlife trading. And as an important member of the earth, human beings should and must take action! Efforts should be made to protect biodiversity! We can choose to live a green and sustainable life, such as adopt green traveling, using sustainable products, reducing the using of disposable plastic products, and refusing wildlife trading. ”

 

Chinese project coordinator at Zoology Society of London, Becky Chen

 

 

British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson, delivers speech.

 

“Biodiversity has declined by more than a quarter in the last 35 years.

The extinction of species is 1,000 times the natural rate and it is estimated that 34, 000 plants and 5,200 animal species face extinction in the future.

Half the calories we eat come from just three of the world’s 30,000 edible plants (rice, wheat and corn).

Biodiversity is fast eroding. The last time anything comparable happened was 65 million years ago, when a third of all species, including the dinosaurs, were killed off in a mass extinction.

Less genetic diversity is a scary thing, as diversity is Mother Nature’s way of planning for, and protecting against, a disaster such as disease or climate change. More genetic diversity means better food security; it’s more likely that some crops will survive despite any adversity.

Re-evaluate your shopping choices. Shop at local farmers’ markets and experiment with heritage varieties, which are often more flavourful than typical supermarket selections.”

 

British Ambassador to China, Caroline Wilson